A Whole New World

Having a daughter has certainly been a whole new world! My first born is a boy and definitely a little boy, complete with sound effects, which I’m pretty sure are hard wired into every little boy brain at conception.

And my  2 1/2 yo daughter…the girliest girl there ever was. Favorite color, pink. Likes to play shopping. Loves to play babies. Always dressing up. Don’t get me wrong, she also loves legos and building her take apart truck and wrestling. But loves the girly stuff…including princesses.

I sing to her every night. I have a bunch of songs that are Disney songs. She asks me yesterday, which song is that? I tell her it’s the Cinderella song. I sing another. She asks which one that is. It’s the Sleeping Beauty song. She knows I know the Ariel song. So now she suddenly thinks I need to know the entire Disney princess repertoire. She says, “How bout Rapunzel song? What Belle song sound like?”

So I also know “A Whole New World” from Aladdin and sang it for her tonight, thinking she’d be happy for a new princess song! I’m not even finished and she’s saying, “After this one, you sing Rapunzel song?”

So I guess my master’s in voice doesn’t wow her enough! I guess I need to start practicing for our bedtime routines so little one has the songs she wants! 🙂

One thought on “A Whole New World

Leave a comment