Limping through life

(Edited to add: a lot of you are probably new to my blog, so here’s the super quick version of my chronic back pain situation: Pain started 21 years ago. 2 surgeries 18 and 14 years ago. Pain continued. I’ve had every treatment under the sun. The pain has spread from just my low back to my mid back as well. I also seem to now have fibromyalgia as well. The back pain is every day. Some days worse, some days slightly less bad.)

Sooooo…yesterday was fun….not so much. I hate being at the mercy of my pain. Now this pain yesterday was not my normal pain, but that’s the crueler joke. My body likes to throw in some curve balls just to keep me on my toes and always guessing…what’s going to hurt today? Lately, my hip has been bothering me. WTF is that about? Sometimes my toes hurt. Just as I walked down the hallway at school, my knee was hurting.

And all these random and chronic pains having me worried each day…What won’t I be able to do today because something hurts? Will I be able to take care of my kids the way they deserve or will I be parked in bed or on the couch again? Will I be stuck in a terrible mental funk all day because of the pain?

I usually go to zumba on Thursdays, which if you look back at old blog posts, I LOVE. But I am not going today because with how much I hurt yesterday, it just doesn’t make sense to hurt myself more at zumba. So I miss out on something I love, again, because of the pain.

It’s just so mentally exhausting to keep up with all of this, knowing there is no end. Well, there are still a couple things left to try, but when I write about the last trial I did in September, you’ll see why I’m not so pumped to try that again. (READ: WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE)

So I continue to limp through life.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Limping through life

  1. Oh my gosh, your ending was perfect. It just brought the whole piece together. I was thinking about all your aches and pains and then that ending just gave me the sense of… exasperation.

    I’m sorry you’re having so much pain, too. I hope you can find some relief.

    Like

  2. I sympathize.

    I have chronic ankle tendinitis due to exceedingly flat feet that literally made the podiatrist gasp at my first exam. I have to wear braces and special shoes that look just stupid with dresses or skirts, so pants every single day is just how I roll.

    I feel like I miss out on so much because of my ankle that it can be discouraging some days. It makes me appreciate the good ones, though!

    Hang in there!

    Like

  3. Ugh! I’m so sorry that you have this pain day in and day out. With the medical resources we have here it’s sad to hear that you cannot find any relief. ~Amy

    Like

Leave a comment