“for Happynis, dansing is fun”

I work hard at not letting all my anxiety riddled physical and verbal turmoil bubble over into view of my kids. But it’s hard. And today, it bubbled.

Today’s major anxiety inducing attack was over…I’m not even sure what. Maybe my son’s mountain of makeup homework from being sick most of last week?? Maybe my thumb hurting while trying to make dinner? Maybe how my son’s anxiety makes him constantly bite his fingers, thus them ALWAYS being in his mouth? Maybe the field trip he is taking tomorrow to Museum of Science and Industry where he will be touching EVERYTHING and then sticking his fingers in his mouth? Maybe my chronic pain? Maybe a little worry creeping in over the coronavirus? Maybe the way the wind is blowing? Who knows. It could be all of that or none of that. Anxiety doesn’t always come with a predictable trigger. Sometimes it just swoops in and says, “I’m here. Today is going to suck.”

So after yelling at the kids too harshly more than once, I am left in the kitchen alone, guilty and emotionally fried. Meanwhile, my 6 year old daughter is drawing at the table. She walks to me and without saying a word, slides this handcrafted drawing (and apparent life mantra) in front of me, and walks away.  As I take in the family members, the music notes, the disco ball (ha!!)…and the sentence below, I am once again reminded that my very mature and empathetic 6 year old daughter’s emotional intelligence is far better than mine. She saw how frustrated I was with something she did not understand (nor do I) and wanted to ease the pain. To calm the storm.

“for Happynis, dansing is fun”

89966128_206392663804712_1611480877739540480_n

Okay, little one. Let’s dance.

4 thoughts on ““for Happynis, dansing is fun”

  1. With all that is happening in the world is it hard not to be anxious and constantly on the edge. You daughter instinctively knew what you needed and provided it. Hooray for her. Things have got to get better.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is the sweetest thing. Most of the time I guess they know better than us when it comes to those things. Thanks for sharing the picture too! Hope you enjoyed your dance party!

    Like

Leave a comment