Sweet Dreams

As my kids and inlay in my cozy bed, I close up The BFG for the night at an especially fun chapter that ends as the BFG lets off some whizzpoppers in front of The Queen and leaves my kids in giggles.

My 12.5 year old son has been wiggling and squirming throughout much of my reading. “I’m restless,” he says in his sweet, sleepy voice. My poor buddy boo often suffers from insomnia or restless limbs, and it seems like the case tonight for sure.

He gives me a drowsy look and asks if I can come to his room for some snuggles. It’s pretty well known that I cannot resist a cuddle request from either kid. My son gives them out more freely, but I still feel like I have to take every one I can get.

So off we go to his room, adorned with indy cars, fighter jets, and his two favorite NASCAR drivers ever (Jeff Gordon and Chase Elliot). I lay next to him and can feel the tension in his muscles. His legs jerk and twitch. He shoots me a desperate look, silently asking for help to calm the storm inside his body. I sing softly. I massage his tense muscles. I put my hand on shoulder and have him focus on the feeling of the touch. I have him breathe….slowly in, slowly out. I hold him close and try to use my own breathing as a guide. And after a little while, I can feel his breath falling closer in line to mine. His jittery legs begin to calm. His strained body begins to relax.

He turns and dreamily says, “I love you.” and I say it back. We give our kissing and hugging routine and soon, I am standing at his door wishing him sweet dreams and he wishes them back to me…the sweetest thing ever.

I feel happy and proud of myself that I can help him when he needs it most. And I feel very lucky that he still wants to cuddle with me even as he’s growing a little more each day.

4 thoughts on “Sweet Dreams

  1. This is beautiful. I suffer from restless legs now and my daughter had terrific growing pains when young. You brought me right back to those days when a mom can do almost anything to help her kids and their problems.

    Like

    1. I suffer from it iti. It’s awful. I hate that my kiddos have the same problems. And while I try, and was successful this time, I often feel so helpless when they can’t sleep at night for one reason or another.

      Like

Leave a comment